Fronteers — vakvereniging voor front-end developers

Fronteers vote for the W3C Technical Architecture Group

In January, W3C members are voting for four seats on the Technical Architecture Group. Since Fronteers is a W3C member, we also have a vote, which our representative Rachel Andrew will cast on behalf of us.

Just like half a year ago, we call all Fronteers members to share their list of top candidates. This time for the W3C Technical Architecture Group (TAG). The result of the internal Fronteers vote will be transmitted to Rachel.

This vote is only open to Fronteers members; if you're not a member you cannot vote.

The Fronteers Slack contains a #w3c-fronteers channel that is open only to members, and where questions can be asked and discussions can be held. Please ask for access in the general Fronteers channel or by a DM to a board member.
In this channel Rachel has also given her personal recommendation.

The Technical Architecture Group

The TAG is a special working group within the W3C, chartered with stewardship of the Web architecture. You can find out more about this group on the W3C TAG website.
Web architecture refers to the underlying principles that should be adhered to by all Web components, whether developed inside or outside W3C. The architecture captures principles that affect such things as understandability, interoperability, scalability, accessibility, and internationalization. Further explanation can be found in the TAG Charter.

There's also a blog in which members of the working group regularly provide updates. For example, earlier this year Hadley Beeman wrote an article entitled Our ethics drive the architecture of the web in which she explained how the members of the TAG influence the web we build on: "A big part of our job as the TAG is to help spec authors with their ideas for a new feature on the web. We help them think about things like how their proposal could work with other features, whether it might have unintended consequences, and how they can learn from someone else’s similar experience." To help put the logic under their advice into a clear document, the group created a draft for Ethical Web Principles.


The four candidates for the three seats are:

  • Rossen Atanassov (Microsoft Corporation)
  • David Baron (Mozilla Foundation)*
  • Kenneth Rohde Christiansen (Intel Corporation)*
  • Lukasz Olejnik (W3C Invited Expert)*

An asterisk (*) indicates that the nominee is a current participant.
All candidates provided statements on what they hope to achieve.

Voting procedure

Fronteers members can mail their vote to The vote should be an ordered list, with your personal top candidate coming first, your next candidate coming second, and so on.

After a membership check, your vote will be added to the general pool. Your top candidate will get 4 points, your second candidate 3 points, etc. If you do not include all four candidates on your list, the missing candidates will get 0 points.

Fronteers voting closes on Friday the 3rd of January at 24:00 o'clock. The Fronteers board will create an ordered list, with the first candidate being the one who received most points, then the one with the second-most points and so on. Rachel Andrew will break any ties.

Rachel will cast the Fronteers vote later that week, before the W3C deadline of 10th of January. W3C will announce the results on 14 January 2020.

Plaats een reactie